cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
paspuggie48

AI Builder - Scan each PDF document in specific order?

I am very very new to Power Automate and the AI Builder and successfully created my first automation.

I have multiple documents in name order and a table in each document. Each document has the same column headers and various number of rows of data.

During tests, Power Automate recognises I put one document into a OneDrive folder and then auto-populates the extracted data and puts it an Excel document in the correct header columns. Perfect !

However, when I upload multiple documents the data extracted and put into the Excel document is not in order. It seems to mix the data from any document and puts it in any rows it likes.

Is there a setting to make Power Automate (or AI Builder if it is this) to scan one document first, populate the Excel with that document data, then go to the next document and repeat, so that all data is in order?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
CedrickB
Power Apps
Power Apps

If you use the trigger "When a file is created", there is no guaranty that file will be processed in the order they have been created if you add several in a row.

One option is to temporize the creation of each file.

Another is to add the file creation date when inserting a row in Excel and then sorting the Excel table

See Filter Query, Order By on Excel Rows - Power Platform Community (microsoft.com)

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
CedrickB
Power Apps
Power Apps

If you use the trigger "When a file is created", there is no guaranty that file will be processed in the order they have been created if you add several in a row.

One option is to temporize the creation of each file.

Another is to add the file creation date when inserting a row in Excel and then sorting the Excel table

See Filter Query, Order By on Excel Rows - Power Platform Community (microsoft.com)