cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AndiRodi
Level: Powered On

Managemanagement of the visibility of the apps created in powerApps through the sharePoint groups

Hi all,

I've a big question. My issue is about how can i manage the app's visibility in sharePoint based on the group or ruli of which the logged in user belongs.

Case: I am a user who has accessed the sharepoint platform of my organization. I am a developer and can only access some specific applications. Someone else can be part of another group and must access other applications.
If I insert a new user in my organization, it is a way to tell the system (for example when I make an app via powerapp) that that app can only be visible to users registered to a specific group or role - defined by a field of db and / or from the sharepoint group?
Can you make sure that PowerApp can access a DB and analyze a specific field and, based on the value of the field, communicate to sharepoint which applications can use the user inserted in the database in which he / she logs in?

Maybe my question is a bit messy.

I hope I have given you an idea of my problem.

Thx,

Andi

7 REPLIES 7

Re: Managemanagement of the visibility of the apps created in powerApps through the sharePoint group

Hey AndiRodi,

There are few things you need to considere:

1. if an app is a customized SP form then it's connected with SP list permissions

2. if an app is embedded via modern webpart on SP page than:

• manage permissions to page in SP
  • the app should be shared to security group that contains the same users set as abovely mentioned SP page

PowerApp does not support O365 group sharing.

You can also use conditional formating and popups inside your app to define it's behaviour based on current user O365 group. Shane Young has great video on that.

AndiRodi

Re: Managemanagement of the visibility of the apps created in powerApps through the sharePoint group

Thank you Mike,