cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Sokon
Level: Powered On

What happens when connection owner's login is deleted?

We can't test this scenario, hence this post: When someone creates a connection in PowerApps/Flow, that person is listed as owner of the connection. We couldn't find a way to transfer connection ownership to another person. What happens when the owner leaves the company and his/her login is deleted? Does the connection continue to work?

6 REPLIES 6
mcolbert
Level 8

Re: What happens when connection owner's login is deleted?

Most connections can be shared which would be good to have a backup person.

There are also powershell admin scripts to manage connectins where the UI doesn't give you the ability to.

Sokon
Level: Powered On

Re: What happens when connection owner's login is deleted?

I know about sharing and agree that this is necessary. However, sharing doesn't affect the ownership and therefore is no solution.

If a connection breaks when the owner leaves the company it would be better to create a connection using a technical account (non-person account with a non-expiring password). However, using technical accounts in order to keep a connection working sounds ugly!

Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: What happens when connection owner's login is deleted?

Hi @Sokon,

Do you want to transfer connction ownership to another user within an app?

If you want to transfer connection ownership to another user within an app, I afraid that there is no way to achieve your needs in PowerApps currently.

If the owner leaves the company and his/her login account is deleted, the connection within this app would be invalid (this connection would not work any more).

 

Best regards,

Kris

Community Support Team _ Kris Dai
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Sokon
Level: Powered On

Re: What happens when connection owner's login is deleted?

@v-xida-msft Thanks for your response!

No, we don't want to transfer ownership within an app but within the user interface of PowerApps website itself (Gear icon on the top right, then item "Connections")

 

I suspect your answer most probably applys here as well, doesn't it?

Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: What happens when connection owner's login is deleted?

Hi @Sokon,

Yes, you are right.

Currently, within PowerApps, there is no way to transfer connection ownership.

If you would like this feature to be added in PowerApps, please submit an idea to PowerApps Ideas Forum:

https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/PowerApps-Ideas/idb-p/PowerAppsIdeas

 

Best regards,

Kris

Community Support Team _ Kris Dai
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Sokon
Level: Powered On

Re: What happens when connection owner's login is deleted?