cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JenLavery
Frequent Visitor

Add array values together - output from MS Forms

Hi all, having a real headache with this.  At first, I was pulling the summed up value down from the spreadsheet generated by MS Forms (I added in a calculation column), but flow keeps spitting out that column as a 0 value on the first run (fine if I rerun it) and it's the same no matter what I do.

With no other option, I need to make the flow calculate the value and I'm pretty new to coding.  Everything I'm finding on the subject of adding more than two things seems to draw down from a sharepoint list as a data source, which isn't an option in this case.

I've created an array from those MS Form values in the Compose function like so:

createArray(
outputs('Get_response_details')?['body/r54d2e838f4704b85869d7be3d84c9817'],
outputs('Get_response_details')?['body/ra492c3687e654148a96bd3c5665b4b5e'],
outputs('Get_response_details')?['body/r365199281e074c39825df8766863d86f'],
outputs('Get_response_details')?['body/r64ab68838da84c1095220deea13e9d30'],
outputs('Get_response_details')?['body/ra5241b87c1784045b3f5c8f61e8562f0'])

I then put in two two 'initialise variables' as float, then an apply to each stage to loop round the values.

JenLavery_0-1620734693692.png

The first set variable uses the following:

add(items('Apply_to_each'),variable('finalTotal'))

The output message I got was that it would only work with an integer or number, so I inserted another Compose function that put an integer around this output as it didn't like it directly, which should have been my first clue it wouldn't work, it said it couldn't be converted to the target type:

int(outputs('Array_for_costs'))

I'm a bit at a loss here.  How can I sum up my 5 array values?  Any insight would be very much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions