cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SaltySteve1706
Frequent Visitor

Adding series of Compose outputs to an email separated by commas and a space.

Hi,

I have a flow that uses 8 conditions to remove the extra characters from the responses of multiple option questions in a Form and joins them separated by commas.  I then include the outputs of these in an email.  Problem is the questions are not mandatory so some can be blank.  When this occurs the email has outputs separated by multiple commas like this:

Outputs 1, Outputs 2, , Outputs 4, , Outputs 6, , .

I have tried separating each of the outputs in the email body with an expression -  if(empty(outputs('Compose_1'),'',', ')) but this just returns an invalid expression.

I am sure this is a simple fix, but I am only new to Power Automate and can't solve this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Paulie78
Super User
Super User

You don't need your compose actions. Multiple option form results come through as a JSON string, which can be easily transformed back to json. For example it might look like this:

"rbea18da1a1c84e3396b1452d9cbbc108": "[\"Power Automate\",\"Power Apps\",\"Power BI\"]"

You can easily turn this back into a valid JSON array with an expression like this:

json(outputs('Get_response_details')?['body/rbea18da1a1c84e3396b1452d9cbbc108'])

This will allow you to apply further expressions that are capable of manipulating arrays. For example:

join(json(outputs('Get_response_details')?['body/rbea18da1a1c84e3396b1452d9cbbc108']), ',')

This will join all of the results with a comma, and you should have the result that you need.

Blog: tachytelic.net

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/PaulieM/videos

If I answered your question, please accept it as a solution 😘

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Paulie78
Super User
Super User