cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Helper I
Helper I

Approval flow with multiple steps

I am looking for guidance/help with a flow. I have a SharePoint folder where 2 documents will be uploaded at the same time (one named File A and the other named File B). Both documents need to be routed to specific managers for approval, but File A must be approved before File B can be sent for approval. 

I have figured out how to create a basic flow for an approval, but need some help with:

1. How to set a condition so that only File A is sent initially. (I tried setting a condition by file name, but it didnt work)

2. How to create a flow so that when File A is approved, File B is sent for approval. 

I am new to Power Automate and appreciate any help that can be provided (or even guidance on if this is even possible!). Thanks in advance. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Dual Super User III
Dual Super User III

Re: Approval flow with multiple steps

The easiest way to do this is with two flows.  One that triggers when a file is created or modified in a folder.  Then have a condition that checks if its File A or B.  If its A continue with the approval if its B then terminate the flow.  The second flow is specifically designed to operate on File B.  After the Approval for File A completes you can have a last step invoke the Flow designed to approve File B.  To have one Flow call another you need to build the Flows in a Solution.  That will give you access to an action that lets you call a child Flow (the one for File B).

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
Highlighted
Dual Super User III
Dual Super User III

Re: Approval flow with multiple steps