cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lars-k
Level: Power Up

Approval required - multiple approvers

Hi guys, I'm new to flow and need some help. 

I need to create an approval process for invoices. Accounting staff scans the invoice and need to send them to a department-manager for approval. I check approval flows for new mail items, sharepoint items, onredrive items but I can't find a way around the problem, that for each approval the approver needs to be selected by hand ? How can I resolve that ?

I thought about creating folders with E-Mail Adresses.
That the account staff just needs to drag & drop the invoice to a folder.
Than the flow reads the mail adress from the folder name and starts the approval process for a new item in there. After aproval the item is moved to a new folder "completedApproval".

Is that possible ? Or do you have another hint ?

4 REPLIES 4
Super User
Super User

Re: Approval required - multiple approvers

If you have a way to determine the proper approver, you can dynamically assign an approver in Flow.  You might, for example, get an individuals manager or reference a SharePoint list.

Here is one scenario:

1) User attaches scanned invoice to a new SharePoint list item.  Department is a required field.

2) A flow runs when a new SharePoint list item is created

1. The Flow looks up the department in another SharePoint list.  This SharePoint list has departments and approvers
  2. The Flow then starts an approval and assigns the approver based on the department

If this is what you need and this requires more explanation, please post here and I will provide a screen shot of a working Flow.

Scott

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Scott
Super User
Super User

Here is a simple example.