Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable

Approval workflow Sharepoint List Field Update

Hello,

I am new to Sharepoint and Flow.  I am creating a Leave Request Approval.  I was able to create the request, the flow to send an approval message, and the email sent to the employee with the Accept or Refused.  I want the Sharepoint List to be updated with this response.  How can I have the Sharepoint status field updated with the response sent via Work Flow?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Approval workflow Sharepoint List Field Update

I was able to fix the problem by removing the Versioning setting and set it to "no".  Now the colomn is updating. Thank you!

View solution in original post

22 REPLIES 22
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

Hi @Anonymous,

If your SharePoint status is choice field type then it is not supported for the updates from flow. This is a limitation in current SharePoint flow templates and infurture we are hoping to get this resolved. There are similar posts around in this forum mentioned about choice field SharePoint item updates.

Thanks

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

If you liked my response, please consider giving it a thumbs up

Proud to be a Flownaut!

Learn more from my blog

Power Automate Video Tutorials
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Hi Kath,

Say you have a SharePoint list likes below. The Approve Status is a Text column.

Holiday list.PNG

Then I create a flow to send an Approval email when a new item is created, then send an email with the Accept or Reject status, then update item in the list. Below is a screenshot of the flow configuration:

Holiday flow.PNG

Hope this can be a reference for you.

Best regards,
Mabel Mao

Community Support Team _ Mabel Mao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.