cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Auto-increment a value based on a value in the most recently created item of a SharePoint list

Hi all! I am relatively new to PowerAutomate and I'm looking for a little push in the right direction. I have a simple SharePoint list in which my end users can add items. They only have to provide Title, because I want PowerAutomate to generate the ID. 

The first ID should be CC20-001. Of course, the next item should get CC20-002 and so on.
We cannot use the SharePoint list ID (because sometimes an item is deleted and then there no longer is a successive sequence).

In PowerAutomate, I'm having trouble determining the ID number value of the latest added item.

Also, when I have that value, I need to add two or one (or zero) leading zeros, depending on the length of the value of course.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards, Ruud

6 REPLIES 6
Jcook
Super User
Super User

Hello,

Could you share a picture of your flow,

—Josh
If you like my post please hit the "Thumbs Up" -- If my post solved your issue please "Mark as a Solution" to help others

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

If you like my post please hit the Thumbs Up

Proud to be a Flownaut!

Check out my blog for Power Automate tips,
tricks, and guides
FlowAltDelete

abm
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous 

This is what you need to do.

1. Your trigger is When an item is created.

2. Next we need to find the last created item to get the previous custom id. So to do this you need to do a Get Item lists filtered by created on date time. Set the Order by and  top  count 2.

3. Ignore the first record as it is going to be your most recent record created (trigger)

4. Get the second record from the Get Item list and find the custom counter value

5. Use split expression to retrieve the latest count value

6. Increment the value

7. Find the length and format the value