cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Guero
Level: Powered On

Automating SharePoint Online access for External Users

Hi, I'm quite new to SharePoint/Azure/PowerShell, so apologies if what I'm asking is a stupid question!

We currently have client SharePoint sites hosted on our O365 tenant, with access to each site to be rolled out to each of our respective clients shortly. Initially, only the senior management of each client will have access to the sites, however as time goes on it's likely we'll be adding everyone else too; To streamline the new user process and save us from having to add each individual staff member, we've been considering using a Flow to automate user access instead, with the goal of adding authenticated external users without much real input from administrators other than a simple approval/rejection process.

This is the Flow as it currently is:

Flow 1.png

Flow 2.png

Flow 3.png

The overall plan is as follows:Visio Outline.png

1. Each Client site has a SharePoint Custom List, titled "Employee Access List". Said list will have the following columns: Request ID (Text), First Name (Text), Last Name (Text), Job Title (Text), Company (Text), Contact Number (Text), E-Mail (Text), SharePoint Access (Yes/No Boolean).
  2. If a member of staff requires access to the SharePoint site, then their respective manager will add the staff member to the list and fill in all the above fields, setting the "SharePoint Access" item value to "Yes".
  3. This will trigger the flow and an approval email to be sent to myself and another administrator, with said email detailing the user to be created, and who has submitted the request.
  4. Script insertion somehow - This script would run if the request was approved, and set the user up with access.
  5. Email notification is automatically then sent to the creator of SharePoint list item, notifying them that the user now has access.