Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Seuadr
Helper IV
Helper IV

Big Newbie here - Compose function sub string question

Hello, 

Short time listener, first time caller here.

I recently took the Microsoft power automate course and am working my way through all of the cool stuff that it appears to be able to do.

I am running into an issue where i am not even novice enough to be called a novice programmer and i don't understand how to correctly syntax something in a compose function sub string:

i have a flow that i am converting an email from HTML to text, then i am using a compose function to snag some stuff out of there that i need i've named the stop to convert the subtle name of "Convert" and the compose function has the following substring expression:

substring(body('Convert'),add(indexOf(body('Convert'),'When:'),5),50)

this is correctly selecting what i want - in this case a time range and date (for example:  From 6:15 a.m. to 7:15 a.m., on Monday, May 4th)

however, selecting a fixed number of characters on the right side isn't working out well as the days/months tend to vary in length and sometimes i'm getting part of the date lopped off and sometimes i'm getting characters from following rows.

i am completely lost on how to nest in a dynamic end to this index, since the end characters aren't always the same. (including the fact that these are manually generated and some people include st or th and some people don't at the end of the date)

the light at the end of my tunnel is that the emails are formatted from a template, so the format is always something like:

Where:

When: From 6:15 a.m. to 7:15 a.m., on Monday, May 4

What is being done: 

i am unsure how to proceed any advice would be fantastic.

Thanks,

Jared

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@Seuadr