cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kbsv
Level: Powered On

Cannot enter value into a blank Excel cell

Hi. I am brand new to Flow, and am trying to create an Excel-flow which updates a table with new rows found, then sets the status to "updated" in the original table. The cells in the original table are empty (as in, no data whatsoever). It seems I cannot use the Update Row-function and simply type in the desired value of the empty cells - that gives me a 400-not found-error. Is there a nice and simple way to accomplish my goal? Or do I have to start using functions and variables? Given that I'm a complete newbie to the product, and this seems a basic functionality, I would really really love to avoid all variables and functions, if possible. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Cannot enter value into a blank Excel cell

Excellent!  We're on a good path, then. 

If we switch your "Get Row" to "List Rows present in a Table", then it will grab every row in the table.  To just get the ones you want, you can add a filter inside this step, or use a condition.  Depending on the size of your table, the filter will probably give you better performance.

From there, use "Add a Row into a Table" to add the data from the original table into your new table.  This will start an "Apply to Each" loop, because Flow will add each row as it comes up.

If your condition (that you already have) is still necessary, leave that in.  If you don't need the condition (maybe because your filter in "List Rows" covered it, then just go straight to your Update Row (to update the original sheet).

As long as your update is inside the Apply loop, you should have access to the ID field you mentioned from the List Rows step.  You'll use that ID column in the "Key Column" and then the dynamic "ID" value as the "Key Value" from the original sheet, and now Flow will know exactly which row should be updated.