cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Regular Visitor

Copy data from custom library column and writing to a custom library column

I am new to flows and relatively new to SharePoint Online. 

I've investigate this but have not determined how it can be done in Flow. Perhaps it can be done with SharePoint designer but I haven't started to learn that yet.

I have a library that I've added a lookup column to. I would like to have a flow that would read the data in this column when someone changes it or a new item is added to the library.

I would also like to be able to write data to a single line text column for a file in the library when someone changes it.

Thanks for any help or direction in this.

McKinley

2 REPLIES 2
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ MWood,

Could you please explain more details about your requirement?

Could you please share more details about your sharepoint library?

I have made a test on my side and have created a sharepoint library with a look up type column "lookup" and a Single line of text type column "singlelinetext".

And I have created a flow as screenshot below to get the value in the look up type column "lookup" and then update the Single line of text type column "singlelinetext":

Capture.PNG

The flow would run successfully as below:

Capture.PNG

Regards,
Alice Zhang

Hi Alice Zhang,

Thankyou so much for responding so quickly and taking the time to give me some examples. 

We are using office 365 Preimum with SharePoint Online. I am an administrator for our SharePoint.

The SharePoint library that I have set up will contain various types of files related to our construction projects. There are PDF, JPG, DWG, RVT, Docx, xlsm, and a few other obscure file types. Often times a single project will approach the 5000 item limit of the list view.