cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Copy data from selected cells in Excel spreadsheet into a Word Template and Save as a new Word document

Hello, complete newbie here 🙂

I need to copy/extract text from around 15 cells (from one row) of an Excel spreadsheet in Onedrive, and using that information, create and populate a Word document in Onedrive using a pre-built template. Is that possible?

I can't seem to find any help on exactly what I need to do. I literally know nothing, have no idea where to start, and after a day of researching help articles am no wiser. If anyone could let me know how to do this or point me in the direction of an exact help/example, that would be great.

Huge thanks 🙂

4 REPLIES 4
efialttes
Super User
Super User

Hi!

First you need to decide which trigger should execute your flow. Are you gonna execute it manually? Do you want it to be executed everyday at the same time? Do you want it to be executed when a new excel file is uploaded to your OneDrive?

Then for the second part (read a table on a well known Excel file) I would recommend to use 'List rows present in a table', please read this thread carefully

https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/Building-Power-Apps/List-Rows-Present-in-a-Table-Microsoft-Flow/...

For the third part (populate the info in a word template) I would recommend this other

https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/Building-Flows/Create-a-file-with-a-word-template/td-p/91648

Hope this helps

Hope this helps

Each time you click on any of our inspiring answers 'Thumb up' icon...
...an ewok scapes from the stormtroopers.

Be grateful, Thumbs up! Save the Galaxy for free!

Escribo sobre Power Automate en:
https://medium.com/anyone-can-automate/

Proud to be a Flownaut!

v-litu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous, 

If you just need to get one row in the Excel file to put it into the doc file, you could refer to the following steps: