cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TomTomTom
Frequent Visitor

Create SharePoint List *Choice* Column on a Schedule

Hello, 

I am building a flow the intention of which is to create a Choice column in a SharePoint list on the 1st of each month. The Column should be called YYYYMM relative to the current data, and the default choice should be Not Started. The other choices will be Waiting On OpsWaiting On Analyst, and Submitted.

I am struggling with the final step - Send an HTTPS Request to SharePoint. I can't see how to list the default choices for the column, and I am getting an error message I can't understand.

Flow as-is:

TomTomTom_0-1645538333745.png

Error:

TomTomTom_1-1645538397148.png

Any guidance?

I am new to this level of work (JSON, HTTPS, etc) but eager to learn and apply in many contexts - help much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Expiscornovus
Super User
Super User

Hi @TomTomTom,

I think you are missing a couple of things. First of all you are using the verbose headers. So, that would require you to specify metadata in the body of the request.

Secondly, I would add a couple of additional properties to your choice field. I have added properties like StaticName and Choices.

Below is an example of a new request which should work. Can you try that instead?

{
  "__metadata": {
    "type": "SP.FieldChoice"
  },
  "FieldTypeKind": 6,
  "Title": "@{variables('YYYYMM.Str')}",
  "Required": "false",
  "EnforceUniqueValues": "false",
  "StaticName": "@{variables('YYYYMM.Str')}",
  "Choices": { 'results': ['Not Started', 'Waiting On Ops', 'Waiting On Analyst', 'Submitted.'] },
  "DefaultValue": "Not Started"
}

createchoicefield.png

Happy to help out! 🙂

Interested in more #PowerAutomate #SharePointOnline or #PowerVirtualAgents content?
Visit my blog, Subscribe to my YouTube channel or Follow me on Twitter

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Expiscornovus
Super User
Super User

Hi @TomTomTom,