cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
chandra447

Create a new column in newly created excel file at one location and store it at other location

Hi Everyone,

I am new to power automate and creating flows.

Trying to achieve: 

Scenario: There are 2 locations location1(Where a team member uploads a dump) and location 2 where the uploaded file is modified and stored. (The 2 locations are in the same Sharepoint but they are different folders, I want to use location2 for creating power BI report.)

I want to automate creating a new column with uploaded date in an excel file which is uploaded at location1 and store the modified excel file at another location.

Any suggestions!

Thank you

Regards

Chandra

3 REPLIES 3
eliotcole
Skilled Sharer
Skilled Sharer

What have you tried so far, @chandra447 ?

Could you maybe show us a few screen shots of your flow so far? (blank out anything sensitive! 😅)

EDIT - Couple of things I can immediately recommend:

1. Available Actions - Regarding the Excel for Business actions (not any API requests), you should need to be aware that there is only an action to do this in a table. So you'll first need to ensure that the excel files are formatted with tables.
  2. SharePoint - Is it possible that this data (if it's not just pure mathematics) would be better served in a SharePoint list? You could feed the list with Microsoft Forms or the built in equivalents. You could even generate spreadsheets for those folks that still need them.

automate.png

I have this flow, which I am using. But it fails when I use it. I am also attaching the script.

function main(workbook: ExcelScript.Workbook) {
  let selectedSheet = workbook.getActiveWorksheet();
  // Set range AW1:AW2 on selectedSheet
  selectedSheet.getRange("AW1:AW2").setFormulasLocal([["Date_dump"],["=DATE(20&LEFT(BC4,2),MID(BC4,3,2),MID(BC4,5,2))"]]);
  // Set range BC2:BC3 on selectedSheet