cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Creating a new Excel file populated based on Forms responses

Hi all

I am new to Flow, so please bare with me if this is a basic question...

I have a scoping questionnaire in a MS Form, the responses to which will dictate if I ask a second set of related questions. So for example, if answer to Q1 = Yes, I will want to ask question subset A. What I am hoping is that I can use Flow to dynamically create the second questionnaire file, based on the responses in the Form. 

I have tried using the SharePoint "Create file" action, and adding a .xlsx or .xls extension to the dynamically assigned file name, but neither of the generated files open. Using a .csv extension works, but then I cannot use the "Get row" Excel action, to populate the .csv using my question bank, as Flow will not detect the csv file. 

Is there an easy way to create a new Excel file (xlsx format) on SharePoint using Flow? Or convert the csv? I tried using the Premium Cloudmersive connector to convert csv to xlsx, but my flow would always complete without generating a new file 😕 

Thanks in advance for any guidance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Re: Creating a new Excel file populated based on Forms responses

Hi @TTMan ,

I'm afraid that your requirement couldn't be achieved since there is no any way to create a new Excel file and insert row to in a single flow.

Best regards,

Alice       

Community Support Team _ Alice Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @TTMan ,

I'm afraid that your requirement couldn't be achieved since there is no any way to create a new Excel file and insert row to in a single flow.

Best regards,

Alice