cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
thomasj2

Determine approver based on submission information

Hi!

I have a Power App Canvas form that writes back to a SharePoint list. This information needs to go for approval based on one of the fields that the requester supplies (content-specific). The email addresses for the approvers are not included in the form as requesters will not know who to select (and to protect the approvers' inboxes). Multiple content-specific options can be selected, potentially requiring multiple, parallel approvals. 

I am a Power Automate novice, so this might be (hopefully is) a softball.

The SharePoint list doesn't have the email address of the approver(s) present, and it is dependent on the information submitted - so I cannot just add a blanket email. I also cannot go in and update the SharePoint list via lookup every time one is submitted, but maybe I misunderstand Lookup in SharePoint lists. 

Ideally would like the Flow to work like this (in non-Flow language):
When an item is created in SharePoint List > the email address of the approver(s) is determined > SharePoint updated to show approvers > an approval is sent to the single or group of approvers with all of the information submitted in the SharePoint > Approved/Denied > Approval status is updated in the SharePoint List > Email sent to requester

Any help would be so very much appreciated!!!

2 REPLIES 2
David-
Solution Supplier
Solution Supplier

What is your logic then to determine who the approver is? I have many solutions with approvals based on a "Cost Center" list, which contains the e-mail of the cost center owner and the controller for the cost center (they're actually people fields). In the form when it is submitted, the person needs to choose the cost center. They don't need to know who the cost center owner or controller are, but they do need to know the cost center where they want to post a charge.