cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Deee

Different approvers for different users

We are currently using Sharepoint online communication site and I would like to know how to set up an approval process so that:

• If user A adds an item to the Sharepoint site, Manager A gets the approval email to Approve
  • & if user B adds an item to the Sharepoint site Manager B gets approval email to Approve.

Also is there a way that the director doesn't need to get approval if an item is added?

I am fairly new to Flow\Power Automate\Approve process so any help would be appriciated

Thanks in Advance

7 REPLIES 7
efialttes
Super User
Super User

Hi!

Please note SP lists stores the identity of the user that created the item, also the date and time the item was created.

Now, I assume your trigger is 'When an item is created' or 'When an item is created or modified', right?

If so the identity of the item author is accesible through the Dynamic Content menu -I believe it's called "Created by'-, or by means of the following WDL expression:

triggerBody()?['Author']

Its format is of type object, one of its attributes the email address, also accesible from dynamic content menu -I believe it's called "Created by Email'- or by means of a WDL expression:

triggerBody()?['Author']?['Email']

So, just after your trigger, you can add a condition action block to check if Author email is equal to A email address, same approach can be adopted for B. 

Flow_AuthorEmail_2.png

Now let's assume C shall approve items created by A, D shall approve items created by B. You just need to 'initialize variable' to store the target approver. If your condition states that item was created by A, just 'Set variable' to C. Just replicate the same piece of logic for B and D.

Finally, you should assign the Approval to your variable

Flow_AuthorEmail_3.png