Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
timwelch
Regular Visitor

Dynamics 365 - Unable to create multiple records from FetchXML filter

Hi all,

I'm very new to flow and perplexed as to how it should work with Dynamics 365.

I'm using the CDS Connector and FetchXML to filter Account records that don't have corresponding Contacts and then create new Contacts for these Accounts. (As per this article)

The filter works well and I can construct an HTML email and send it to myself but if I try to create new records nothing happens... I suspect I'm simply constructing it wrong but I can't seem to find any documentation on how... 

Annotation 2020-02-19 102158.png

Any assistance greatly appreciated.

Tim Welch

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
timwelch
Regular Visitor

Re: Dynamics 365 - Unable to create multiple records from FetchXML filter

SOLUTION: 

You definitely need to use the "Common Data Service (Current Environment)" - this isn't the first CDS option when searching for it.

When creating a Contact you need "Account Name (Accounts)" to be /accounts(@{items('Apply_to_each')?['accountid']}) as per...

Annotation 2020-03-05 103456.png

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Super User
Super User

@timwelch 

Hi there.  So here's what I think is happening.  For the contact entity, the Last Name is typically required.  And the "Full Name" field is usually an aggregate of the First Name and Last Name.  

Try dropping your dynamic value for Account Name into the Last Name field instead and see if that changes your results.

Keep us posted.

-Ed

If you liked this reply, please give it a thumbs up! If this reply has answered your question or resolved your challenge, please consider marking it as a Solution. This helps other users find it more easily via search.

Super User
Super User

Hi @timwelch 

Your first step action trigger is update now. If you want to trigger for create and update then select Create or Update.

image.png