cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DoubleSupercool

Excel row to individual Teams chat: post a direct message as User, NOT Flow Bot. Possible?

I am a teacher of low level English speakers / low tech competence students in Japan. I would like to:

> Check an Excel row for the number of absences a student has.

> Automatically send a direct message to the student via Teams chat, when their absences reach certain numbers (e.g. 3,6,9)
> Send the direct message as being from me, NOT from Flow Bot

As far as I can tell, Power Automate will only let me send this direct message as coming from Flow Bot.
I would like the message to appear as coming from me, to avoid confusion.

The following test works (no conditional triggers yet), but obviously the message appears as if it was sent from this mysterious "Flow Bot".

I find it pretty strange that you CAN do this for teams and channels, but not for individual users. It also seems to be no problem to do this by sending an email, but with these students, I can't be certain that they ever check their emails, while they are more likely to check Teams.

Many thanks

Screen Shot 2022-04-16 at 09.27.19.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JasonWang

JasonWang_0-1650115203315.png

Hello, 

You need to create a chat before sending message to the that chat, and then select User instead of Flow bot, chose group chat and conversation ID by the chat you just created. hope this can help. 

Cheers!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
JasonWang

JasonWang_0-1650115203315.png

Hello, 

You need to create a chat before sending message to the that chat, and then select User instead of Flow bot, chose group chat and conversation ID by the chat you just created. hope this can help. 

Cheers!

DoubleSupercool