cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
gunnahafta
Level: Powered On

Extract part of a dynamic content value

I have a flow thatis triggered when a Cloud App Security alert is generated.  The flow takes the CompromisedEntity dynamic content value (which is the users email address) and puts it in the To field in an email action.

The email address format is firstname.lastname@company.com

I want to pull out everything from the start of the CompromisedEntity dynamic content until the first full stop "." into a variable which should give me the persons first name and then use that in the emails saluation i.e. Dear <firstname>

Im not a coder can someone help me how to get this to work?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Extract part of a dynamic content value

@gunnahafta 

Hey there - This one is fun but really relies on the email addresses being consistent.  Essentially, we're going to use a nested Split() which breaks a string up into an array using whatever delimiter you choose.  I'll start from the inside out:

Presuming the email is first.last@email.com, use a Compose action and add the following expression:

Split(

Then click over to the dynamic content and put your dynamic email address in between the () of the Split.  Then add a comma and the first delimiter.  Here's what mine looks like:  split(triggerBody()['text'],'@')

This splits the string, 'first.last@email.com' into an array at the '@' with two values "first.last" and "email.com".  You can tell Flow, you're only interested in the first value of the array by adding a [0] at the end...  split(triggerBody()['text'],'@')[0]

This will give you only "first.last", so if we split that at the period and grab the first element again, you should end up with just the first name:  split(split(triggerBody()['text'],'@')[0],'.')[0]

20191022e.PNG