Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Super User
Super User

Find the start of a pattern (regular expression) within a string

Hi

I'm fairly new to Flow so I'll give you my full scenario as well as the specific issue just in case I am missing an easier method to achieve my goal.

Scenario: I'm pulling an array from a SharePoint list then using a Select to return just the columns of interest. I am then passing these results to Create HTML table. All good so far! However, one column is a date/time column returning results as '2017-10-27T08:00:00' whereas I want to see all the dates in the format '2017-10-27'.

I'm thinking to check for the location of text within the HTML that matches the pattern -\d\dT\d\d: (i.e. hyphen, number, number, T, number, number, colon) and then using substring to get rid of the time portion of the date/time.

I'll need to loop, replacing one instance at a time, until all instances are removed but I'm OK with that. The issue I have is that Indexof does not appear to work with regular expressions. I see that contains supports regular expressions but only returns True/False, not the location within the text.

So, am I on the right path converting to html first and then 'reformatting' instances of dates in the text string (I don't see a way to convert the date format within the Select operation), and if so, how do I go about getting the location of text matching a regular expression?

Thanks!

P

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Re: Find the start of a pattern (regular expression) within a string

Hi @PaulD1,

Do you have a date time column in the sharepoint list and want to get the date in the column with format "yyyy-MM-dd".