Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
lordhebert
Level: Powered On

Flow Failure Instant Email Notification

Hi folks,

I'm trying to build a simple flow based on a schedule that will notify somebody if the flow fails. I know that Microsoft send out a weekly flow failure, but I need more of a real time notification. Here's what I've done so far (I'm relatively new to Power Automate so any help you can provide will be great).

1. Flow Fail Instant 1.png

2. Flow Fail Instant 2.png

3. Now, if I use the condition above, when tested the flow works - but I get an error in the send an email portion

Flow Fail Instant 3.png

Probably something simple and any help would be most appreciated

TiA

4 REPLIES 4
Super User
Super User

Re: Flow Failure Instant Email Notification

The Flow doesn't fail, which is why the Send an email (V2) step does not complete, your condition is only going to send an email on failure. To test if the Flow logic is working, temporarily add a Send an email (V2) to the No branch of the condition, with a subject line of TESTING THE NO FAILURE LOGIC.

Also, you'll likely want to add some time-based logic to your condition so that you aren't notified of past failures that were covered by a previous notification email. For more on that see, Working with Dates and Times inside of your flows, and the Compare dates using conditions

Finally, if you provide your run history of the Flow we can provide more insight. 

If this reply has answered your question or solved your issue, please mark this question as answered. Answered questions helps users in the future who may have the same issue or question quickly find a resolution via search. If you liked my response, please consider giving it a thumbs up. THANKS!

lordhebert