cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Catman
Level: Powered On

Flow Problem: Updating SharePoint File Properties using E-mail Address in a SharePoint List

Hi Everyone,

I'm pretty new to flow, and i was hoping someone could point out where i've gone wrong with this flow i've built.

I'm using SharePoint in Office 365 in a University setting

I have a SharePoint Library called 'External Examiner Reports' and a SharePoint List called 'External Examiners'

The list is essentially a list of all the external examiners we have for the University Programmes. The list has their names (column: External Name) and E-mail Addresses (Column: E-Mail), and a bunch of other columns. 

I have built a flow that will take attachments from e-mails when they land in my inbox in a sub folder called '0.Document Repository', and create a file in the SharePoint Library 'External Examiner Reports'. 

The aim of the flow is to then cross reference the sender's e-mail address to the list of items in the SharePoint List 'External Examiners', and update the properties of the file that were created to recrord the sender's e-mail address and the senders name.

Whilst it works in so much as data gets written to the required columns, it is pulling back the wrong External Name from the External Examiners List... and i ca't fathom why. I've been testing it using myself, so i added myself to the External Examiners list and then E-mailed myself files. I don't know why, but it sets the E-mail field for the file to my e-mail, but the External's Name doesn't come back as me, instead, it comes back as a lady name Sue. Where am i going wrong? Flow images are below

Flow01.jpgFlow02.jpgFlow03.jpgFlow04.jpgFlow05.jpg

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Flow Problem: Updating SharePoint File Properties using E-mail Address in a SharePoint List

Hi @Catman,