cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
anneaz
Frequent Visitor

Flow email shows too many decimals

Hi all

I'm fairly new to MS Flow and have a simple approval flow I'm having issues with. Its working and sending the email etc but because the fields in my Sharepoint list are calculated, based on other columns, Flow doesn't recognise these as number fields. This means when the email comes through its shows as $123.4500000000000. I've tried to set up a format number in the flow but this doesn't work because the data coming to MS Flow is not recognised as a number

I've seen some other solutions with mention of wrapping the text and using something like =TEXT([formula], "#.00") Problem is the solutions doesn't explain how you apply this - where it goes, how to use it. Help please 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
anneaz
Frequent Visitor

Solved myself using Initialize Variable linked to the column in Sharepoint, then Format Number with a float variable statement. Linked that Format Number outcome to my email. Messy as i have one of these statements for each of the 7 columns but it works and didn't find any other solutions

anneaz_0-1631092383061.png

Float statements are float(variables('name of the variable'))

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Achavan
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi @anneaz ,

I tried to format $123.4500000000000 and worked. Below are the sceenshots:

Achavan_0-1630991118761.png

Output -

Achavan_1-1630991179310.png

Did I answer your question ? Please consider to mark my post as a solution to help others.

anneaz
Frequent Visitor

I don't seem to have the same Compose screen as you have shown, as it only has the Imput. I set it up like this but the flow still failed, showing a template error so guessing I've got it wrong

anneaz_0-1630991915891.png

(I know the assigned to is missing, just took it out for the screen shot)