cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mel_Butler_EIA
Frequent Visitor

Flow failing when importing excel data to existing Sharepoint list

Hello everyone

I am new to building flows and to Sharepoint lists, and I am not very tech savvy. I've recently been trying to migrate several different excel sheets into one Sharepoint list with the plan to create a customised entry form using PowerApps. The list has 160 columns and there are approximately 7500 records in total. 

I want to be able to update the list by importing the excel columns and use a flow to check whether the rows exist already and to therefore update them, or to create new records if they don't exist. The unique ID number which is present on both the Sharepoint list and the excel sheets is under column 'Source file ID'.

However, the flow I've created keeps failing and I don't know why - please help!

Below are screenshots of my flow-

Capture1.PNGCapture2.PNGCapture3.PNG

The error I get is -

The expression "Source File ID eq 'IV2460'" is not valid. Creating query failed.

What do I need to do to get it to recognise the source file ID as the unique identifier?

Thanks in advance

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
ScottShearer
Super User III
Super User III

@Mel_Butler_EIA 

I believe your query is failing because you are using the "Display name" of the SharePoint column and not the "internal name".  One easy way to find  a columns internal name is to go to the list settings and click on the column name.  That will take you to the properties for that column.  The internal name can be found at the end of the URL after Field=

Let me know if you need additional help.

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Scott

View solution in original post

v-bacao-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Mel_Butler_EIA ,