cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RossBroadley
Helper III
Helper III

Flow to send an email based on sharepoint column vs now. (Takes a long time to run)

Hi there, 

I'm new to flow and have been tasked with creating a flow which emails users when the sharepoint column 'Expiry' is due to expire in the next 4 months. The flow should email each user once. 

To achieve this I have created a conditional flow. But I'm having some issues filtering the sharepoint data and running the flow. 

The conditions required are for the Expiry date to be in the next 120 days, and for the TEST LICENSE STATUS to be set as 'Notification Not Sent' 

After the flow retrieves the relevant sharepoint records and emails the user. The flow should update the sharepoint record to 'Notification 1 Sent'. Which will prevent the user from receiving further emails. 

I will then be creating another flow for escalation purposes which follows the same structure, with different staff being contacted when within one month of expiry for example. 

Here are some images of the flow: 
NOTE Recurrence is set at 1 year so the flow won't run automatically during testing

RossBroadley_0-1593020035465.png

RossBroadley_2-1593020184590.png

RossBroadley_3-1593020237032.png

Any help would be greatly appreciated! 

Ross

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
edgonzales
Super User II
Super User II

@RossBroadley 

Hi there.   There are a couple of ways to approach this, but I think one reason it's taking so long is that it is grabbing ALL of the rows, and then looking at each one to see if it meets the condition (one at a time).

You might consider either an OData filter on the Get Items step (Click on "Show advanced options" and then use the "Filter Query" bit), or add a "Filter Array" action after. 

Give either of those a go and see if that changes anything.

Keep us posted.

-Ed