cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
KeithCa
Level: Powered On

Flow to update spreadsheet in sharepoint from excel on onedrive

So I'm pretty new to flows and sharepoint in general and was asked to scope something out to see if its plausible, but been playing around to no avail.

We have a excel spreadsheet that is updated every week on a computer and needs to go onto sharepoint list for viewing.

We were wondering if it was possible to create a flow(or similar) so that everytime that sheet is updated the sheet on sharepoint would also be updated. Probably not possible from the system but maybe if we got it to uploaded to onedrive and from there?

And also asked to scope out if it was possible for the list to be updated in the sharepoint and auto exported to excel to somewhere. This one seems more pausible and I can handle.

4 REPLIES 4
Super User
Super User

Re: Flow to update spreadsheet in sharepoint from excel on onedrive

Why aren't you just directly updating the spreadsheet  in SharePoint? Why have two copies?

Have you considered using OneDrive to sync the two excel files?

KeithCa
Level: Powered On

Probably worded it a bit wrongly but its a list in sharepoint that needs to be updated. I'm not too sure why but this is what I was asked haha. I just know we have a excel file and want to have that excel file to be a list in sharepoint and be bidirectional updateable.

Super User
Super User

Ok. To read an excel file i SharePoint you can use the Excel(Business) connector. You will however need to create the data as a table.

First create a flow that includes an action "create table" to create the rigth format fro the Excel file. This is where you specify all the columns in the table. Make sure that you create an empty excel file first.

Then you can update the excel and create SharePoint items every time a row is added.

Community Support Team
Community Support Team

HI @KeithCa,