cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Kelley303
Frequent Visitor

Generate DocNumber - fill in MS form, linked to Excel - Users choose first 3 fields, last item a sequential number. Then update Excel file with generated number.

Hello! I'm pretty new to Power Automate and I am not able to find exactly what I'm looking to do with a template.

I want users to be able to generate a document number. Ideally, I want to use a shared MS Form - linked to an excel file that is filed on SharePoint/Teams. 

Users will fill out the form, choosing the first 3 fields from a drop down, the last field will be a sequential number, the sequence will depend on the fields chosen from the (first three) drop downs in the form. 

After the number is assigned - I would like users to receive an email with the generated number and then have the Excel file update a new row, with the new number. 

Example: 

Field 1 - Project

Field 2 - Doc Type

Field 3 - Discipline

Sequential number - xxxxx (00001)

Say we already have the following number assigned in the excel sheet: ABC-REP-DA-00001 - Assuming the next user chose the same Project, Doc Type and Discipline, the next sequential number to be auto assigned would be ABC-REP-DA-00002.  The Excel file already contains the first 3 fields - we have been manually assigning the 4th field (sequential number) 00001, 00002, by filtering. 

Is it possible to build a flow to make this happen? Any help is greatly appreciated.

1 REPLY 1
rocamp
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Kelley303 ,

It's definitely possible. This may not be the best way to do it, but my first thought is that you would need a condition for each possible outcome of the selections. That could get pretty long, but once built it would work fine.

What I mean is, you would use the condition action and have 3 conditions. Let's use your example to design the first one.

Field 1 is equal to Project

Field 2 is equal to Doc Type

Field 3 is equal to Discipline