cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Frequent Visitor

Get columns headers in excel file and copy them into a new excel file

Hi everyone,

I hope you could help me with this, since I am new in the use of Microsoft Power Automate. 

I have an excel table with different columns as in figure:excel table.PNG

My objective is to retrieve only the header of the columns A, C and D and paste them into a new table in a new worksheet/file.

How can I do that?

Thank you in advance.

Helen

5 REPLIES 5
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Helen96,

You could use the Select action to filter these columns you want, please refer to the following screenshot, then you will get the output of Select, put the output into the Apply to each action to get each row of the new table. Then add these rows into a new table by using the Add a row into a table action. Please notice here, when you map the table, you should use the expression that item()?['columnName'].

Annotation 2019-12-09 164147.png

Hope it helps, if you have any question about it, please contact us.

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Lin Tu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Thank you for the help, it worked. 

Can I ask you why it is necessary to use this expression to map the table? (item()?['columnName'].)

Moreover, in the column 'ONo' there are duplicates for each unique value, it is possible to have in the new table only distinct values?

For example, to be more clear, as shown in the following tables, there are five rows with a 'ONo' equal to '1726', five for '1732' and five for '1734', I would like to have only three rows in the new table, one for each different number (i.e. one for 1726, one for 1732, and one for 1734).

excel table.PNG

Thank you in advance.

Helen 

Hi @Helen96