cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
desert_deux
Frequent Visitor

Getting rows from Excel into SharePoint only if they fall within certain dates

Hi all🙂

I am very new to Power Automate and can't seem to find a solution for my issue. To provide some context, here is an example of the table in the Excel files I work with. There are a lot of items in the table, and I only need those wherein the specific date falls within the start and end date.

Nameother dataStart dateEnd dateSpecific date

Now, I know how to do this in Excel, but I don't want to have to copy and paste the formula every time. So, here is what I envision that a flow will be able to do: 

Once a new excel file lands in a designated document library, the flow will go through the excel table, identify those items in which the specific date falls between start and end date, and then list those items in a designated SharePoint list. Is this possible? 

I'd appreciate it if you guys could help me out!😊

14 REPLIES 14
MarvinBangert
Most Valuable Professional

Hi @desert_deux 

welcome to the community!

there are a couple of things you should check before we go on:

- You can define how a flow starts (e.g. Whenever a new file is created (or modified) within a SharePoint library), the flow always starts whenever there is a new document uploaded into the specific library. You should make sure that there is no other content uploaded to this library, otherwise your flow would trigger every time and run into an error or worse put wrong information into the SharePoint list. If there is multiple content uploaded, you should consider using Trigger conditions

- Make sure your Excel data is formatted as table (and uses the same name for the table) and your date is also formatted correctly, otherwise you need more actions within Power Automate (to make it more dynamically) and sometimes also get errors of incorrect date format. You need the ISO 8601 format