cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Regular Visitor

Help configuring a complex Flow

I have a SharePoint list where we hold help desk tickets.  I have a separate list helpdesktickets_archive where we store older tickets by way of using the legacy workflows and once we change the status of the ticket from the main list from anything status to "archive" my older process (using workflows built into SharePoint) would copy that ticket from helpdesk list to helpdesk_archive, then it would delete the original ticket from that list.

I have found some walk throughs but none show what I'm attempting to accomplish.  Any help is appreciated as I'm very new to MS Flow but would like to learn and start using it.

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Regular Visitor

Re: Help configuring a complex Flow

Here is the workflow using SharePoint desinger.  msflow.PNG

Highlighted
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi @thedarkpools,

You can trigger this using the When an item is created or modified SharePoint trigger but you would be firing the Flow a lot and then evaluating to see if the status is Archive. I would recommend a daily (or whatever frequency you want) scheduled Flow that operates against an Archive view.  The Flow would do the following

• Initiate on your schedule
  • Get the all of the Items in the Archive view (create one if you don't already have one)
  • Loop through the items in the view and
    1. Create an item in the Archive list mapping the columns from the original list to the archive list
    2. Delete the item from the original list

Have a look at the screen shots and see if that answers your needs.

Schedule and Get ItemsSchedule and Get Items

Apply to EachApply to Each

Create and DeleteCreate and Delete

Hope that helps!

Piper

Highlighted
Regular Visitor

@Piper  thank you for this.