cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
jeanwang
Level: Powered On

How can I change flow trigger without losing the following actions

I have created a long flow, now I realize I have chosen the wrong trigger, if I delete the current trigger, I may lose the following actions in the flow. How can change the trigger type without losing following steps?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: How can I change flow trigger without losing the following actions

 

Hi @jeanwang ,

 

If the following action uses the output of the trigger body, then when you delete the trigger, the configured content will be removed.

You could consider using a workaround that you can create a copy of Flow. Whenever I need to change the complex configuration of a Flow, I often click Save as to create a copy of the Flow first, which will help restore the configuration of the previous version.

https://flow.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/make-a-copy/

Please take a try.

 

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Barry
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Super User
Super User

Re: How can I change flow trigger without losing the following actions

It depends on which trigger you are using.  If your trigger does not have any outputs used by other actions in your flow, you can simply right click, choose delete and remove the old trigger and then choose your new trigger.

 

If the trigger contains outputs that are being referenced later in your flow, you'll have to remove the references to those outputs in the later actions before you can remove and replace the trigger.  

Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: How can I change flow trigger without losing the following actions

 

Hi @jeanwang ,

 

If the following action uses the output of the trigger body, then when you delete the trigger, the configured content will be removed.

You could consider using a workaround that you can create a copy of Flow. Whenever I need to change the complex configuration of a Flow, I often click Save as to create a copy of the Flow first, which will help restore the configuration of the previous version.

https://flow.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/make-a-copy/

Please take a try.

 

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Barry
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

Helpful resources

Announcements
firstImage

Power Platform Online Conference

Join us for the first ever Power Platform Online Conference!

firstImage

Incoming: New and improved badges!

Look out for new contribution recognition badges coming SOON!

firstImage

New & Improved Power Automate Community Cookbook

We've updated and improved the layout and uploading format of the Power Automate Cookbook!

thirdimage

Power Automate Community User Group Member Badge

Fill out a quick form to claim your user group badge now!

sixthImage

Power Platform World Tour

Find out where you can attend!

seventhimage

Webinars & Video Gallery

Watch & learn from the Power Automate Community Video Gallery!

Top Solution Authors
Top Kudoed Authors
Users online (6,839)