cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SianBusby
Level: Powered On

How do I complete "Send approval email when a new item is added"

I'm new to flow, I wanted to try using this over standard SharePoint workflows.

The "Send approval email when a new item is added" template is great, however I cannot see a way to complete the circuit.

The email sends on new item creation, the user approves via the email and an approved email is sent to the originator but how do I flag the original item as approved/rejected?

I can't Approve the list item from Flow by updating the in built SharePoint approval status field or by updating a custom Approval choice field (pending, approved, rejected) etc. as choice fields are not supported in "Update list item". 

How are other people using this template? It seems a bit half-baked but I may just be using it incorrectly.

4 REPLIES 4
Super User
Super User

Re: How do I complete "Send approval email when a new item is added"

Hi @SianBusby,

Yes you are correct. Not all the functionalities are available and its lacking documentation. The choice field updates are not yet in SharePoint Flow templates. Hoping this could be added soon from Microsoft Flow Team.

Thanks

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

If you liked my response, please consider giving it a thumbs up

Proud to be a Flownaut!

Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Hi SianBusby,

How about we just send the approved email if approved, and delete the newly created item if rejected?

We may also add the action under Yes, to update the item with some signal column, which the column type is supported.

32.PNG

And yes, currently there are some column type not supported under Microsoft Flow, but the team are working on this.

Check the blog regarding SharePoint and Flow:

SharePoint and Flow

Regards

Community Support Team _ Michael Shao