cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

How to check if date matches Today - Excel online, condition or filter array?

Hi all!

I am not a developer, but I must say. building a flow that with conditions including dates is surprisingly hard. 

I'm trying to build a flow that checks if there is one or more lines in an Excel file has date the same as Todays date. I'v spent a good amount of hours searching the forum for solutions. I tried a lot  of them but I'm running into dead ends.

My question is: What is the correct way to do this in Power Automate?

Prerequisite:

The dates in the Excel (source) was created with the expression:

convertTimeZone(utcnow(),'UTC','W. Europe Standard Time','MM/dd hh:mm tt')

by the flow below

image.png

and the final excel result looks like this.

image.png

Try 1)

image.png

Error message: Invalid filter clause: unsupported operation. Only single 'eq', 'ne', 'contains', 'startswith' or 'endswith' is currently supported.

Try 2) 

Expression: formatDateTime(body('dateTime'),'yyyy-MM-dd') eq '@{utcnow('yyyy-MM-dd')}'

List rows in table.png

Error message: An unknown function with name 'body' was found. This may also be a function import or a key lookup on a navigation property, which is not allowed.
inner exception: An unknown function with name 'body' was found. This may also be a function import or a key lookup on a navigation property, which is not allowed.

Try 3)

image.png

Expression (in Advanced mode) : @equals( formatDateTime(item()?['dateTime'],'yyyy/MM/dd'),
utcnow('yyyy/MM/dd')
)

Error message:

Excel date.png

Conclusion: Excel Online action doesn't store date in a correct way.

Try 4)

Same as no.3 but with a new expression to convert the excel date :

Expression: @equals(formatDateTime(addDays('1900-01-01', sub(int(item()?['dateTime']), 2)), 'yyyy-MM-dd'), formatDateTime(utcNow(), 'yyyy-MM-dd'))

Error message:

image.png