cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Helper IV
Helper IV

How to create a flow when certain condition is met ?

Hi,

I built the reservation App with DataSource as Excel file. The Excel contains Start Date,End Date, Canceled columns along with other few columns. The dates in Start and End Columns are in dd-mmm-yyyy ex: 02-Mar-2020. I have an update status screen in App where User can select "Y" if they want to cancel the reservation. If they don't cancel the reservation then column will be empty. I would like to create a flow such that EndUser receives reminder emails everyday from their Start to End date. However,if Column "Canceled" has "Y"value then User should not receive reminder email. I am new to flows and has below flow not sure where to proceed from below. 

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks in advance for your time!Flow.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hello @Newbie12 ,

if it's a text column, then you don't need such complicated expression as that one is needed for date columns. For text columns formatDateTime(...) should be enough. You must use 'yyyy-MM-dd' format for comparison in the condition to work.

formatDateTime([ExcelDateColumn]),'yyyy-MM-dd')

To add the expression, add the 'Condition' first and enter the column from Excel.

image.png

Then select the dynamic content, copy and store its value in some text editor.

image.png

Remove the dynamic content from the condition and add the expression, using the value from previous step without the @.

image.png

It should have similar format as below.

formatDateTime(items('Apply_to_each')?['Tri'],'yyyy-MM-dd')

On the right side condition use expression for today's date in the same format

utcNow('yyyy-MM-dd')

[ If I have answered your question, please Accept the post as a solution. ]
[ If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up. ]

[ ... and if you like my response, you might like also the tips and solutions on my Power Automate related blog ]