cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PrasoonSur
Frequent Visitor

Incremental Serial Number

I have an excel online table in which each row are uniquely identified by a serial number. A portion of the table is displayed below:

Power Automate Doubt.PNG

Using power automate, I want to fetch the highest Serial Number (in this case, 21), add 1 to it (then 22), and then use the new serial number to be added in a new row of the same excel table.

So the next time I run the flow, the highest will be 22, then add 1 to it, and then the new Sl no will be 23, and so on.

I'm fairly new to power automate, I tried to get the answer from existing questions, but somehow it wasn't working for me. Could someone pls help me out with the same example given above? Your help will be much appreciated.

If you need any extra information, please let me know.

@Mister_Shaik |  @ScottShearer |  @jinivthakkar |  @Expiscornovus |  @ekarim2020 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
fchopo
Super User
Super User

Hi @PrasoonSur 

You could do something like the following:

serial-number.png

1) List the rows present in the Excel Table, ordered by SerialNumber column in descending order.

2) Get the first item of the previous action, and read the SerialNumber column value (21 in your sample), using the following expression:

first(outputs('List_rows_present_in_a_table')?['body/value'])?['SerialNumber']

Following, you should add 1 to the result and use it to create a new row in excel.

Hope it helps!

Ferran

Did I answer your question? Please consider to mark my post as a solution to help others.
Proud to be a Flownaut!

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
fchopo
Super User
Super User

Hi @PrasoonSur 

You could do something like the following:

serial-number.png

1) List the rows present in the Excel Table, ordered by SerialNumber column in descending order.