cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

InvalidTemplate: JSON array index (#) is out of bounds

For starters, I am a novice when it comes to JSON and Power Automate but are picking up on it quickly. I have encountered an issue that I am not sure how to troubleshoot.

I have an array that's dynamically populated with strings at runtime, the length of the array is also dynamic. The data is sourced from a CSV and converts to the JSON array. The flow is successful for small arrays but upon attempting to scale it up to encompass more data, I started receiving this error:

InvalidTemplate. Unable to process template language expressions in action 'Set_Helper_JSON' inputs at line '1' and column '2849': 'The template language expression 'addProperty(variables('Form Data JSON'), variables('CSV Header')[variables('Index')], item())' cannot be evaluated because array index '62' is outside bounds (0, 61) of array. Please see https://aka.ms/logicexpressions for usage details.'.

The flow appears to loop through the index successfully until it reaches the final 2 items of the array where it then outputs the above error and fails. Any suggestions for a fix?

Below is the code for 'Helper JSON':

{
"inputs": {
"name": "Helper JSON",
"value": "@addProperty(variables('Form Data JSON'), variables('CSV Header')[variables('Index')], item())"
}
}
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Re: InvalidTemplate: JSON array index (#) is out of bounds

Found the problem.

The incoming CSV data include currency which outputs pricing as $1,170.00. During the CSV File to String, it is splitting the value into 2 JSON values; ie. "$1" and "170.00". This occurs twice in the source data resulting in the array being out of bounds.

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Re: InvalidTemplate: JSON array index (#) is out of bounds

Found the problem.