cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sam91
Frequent Visitor

Is it possible to use flow to copy cell formatting (Cell Highlight) ?

Hi All, 

I am pretty new to using Power Automate and office scripts. I would appreciate all the help I can get. 

I am trying to copy data (including cell formatting) from one excel table to another excel sheet. 
I have followed this post (@yutao ) successfully to create 2 scripts and running it with power automate. 
Thanks @Yutao 

https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/Using-Flows/Trying-to-use-Office-Scripts-and-Flow-to-copy-from-o... 

My problem is that I do not know how to use range.getFormat / other scripts / using powerautomate to copy the highlighted cell format to the new excel sheet. 

Thanks!

Regards

Samantha

6 REPLIES 6
GeoffRen
Microsoft
Microsoft

Can you post what you have so far? Is the formatting for the entire range consistent (so the same formatting for ever cell in the range)? If so, you just need to:

1. Modify the export script to return the format data with the values

2. Modify the import script to accept the format data as a parameter

3. Modify the import script to apply the format data to the range you want

Sam91
Frequent Visitor

Hi @GeoffRen , 

Yes. I created 2 sample excel sheet called A Test and B Test. 
In A Test, I have a table called TableA with below data and cell highlight. 

3.PNG

I have created an Import and Export Script and incorporated them into Power Automate. The flow ran successfully and the values are copied over. But not the Cell Highlights. 

Script: "Export range"

function main(workbook: ExcelScript.Workbook, sheetName: string, rangeAddress: string): string {
  let sheet = workbook.getWorksheet(sheetName);
  let range = sheet.getRange(rangeAddress);
  return JSON.stringify(range.getValues());
}

Script: "Import range:

function main(workbook: ExcelScript.Workbook, sheetName: string, rangeAddress: string, values: string) {