cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jessica_Paske
Frequent Visitor

Issue for Flow for When File is Created Using File Templates

Hi! Any help appreciated, thanks!

I am new to flows and am wondering what I am doing wrong in building a flow for a new file being created using an Excel template that is loaded into the library. We want the document attached in the email.

We have to rename the file which triggers two emails sent as part of the flow, one tilted Book and then a while later an email with the new title.

How can I stop the first email from sending?

I included screen shots of the flow and the double emails.

Flow Double Emails.JPGFlow Step 1.JPGFlow Step 2.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi @Jessica_Paske,

If HR is fine manually starting the flow after they handle their onboarding process then that eliminates the extra email that's being sent on "book.xlsx."  To do this, you'll use the template "Complete a custom action for a selected file" which can be found here: https://us.flow.microsoft.com/en-us/galleries/public/templates/31a5422e6d8b4c0d9fdb95f298130e4d/comp...

This allows users to select an item inside the SharePoint library and then manually pick a flow from the toolbar.  So, HR can create a new file from the spreadsheet, complete any other actions, and then select that file and run the flow!

I hope that helps!  Let me know if you need more information.

Ashley

If this response provided an answer to your question please mark it as a solution so that others can find it.

If you found this helpful, consider giving it a thumbs up!

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
edgonzales
Super User II
Super User II

@Jessica_Paske 

Hi there.  A few ways to go about this, if you'd like:  

1. Add a filter on your trigger to only look for mods to book.xlsx
  2. Add a delay after the trigger to give youself time to rename the file.
  3. Automate the renaming step and put it before the send email bit.