Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ms17vfb
Frequent Visitor

Launch Flow with Excel Button without Flow for Excel Add-In

Hello all,

I'm new to Flow.

I've created a flow which updates planner tasks from an Excel sheet.

I would like to start this flow with a button in Excel.

I've searched for similar topics, but all require "Flow for Excel-Add-In" which can not be used at our company.

1)Is there any possibility to do that? I've seen the button for mobile devices. Anything similar to that?

If not, I have two other ideas:

2) Is there a way to create a simple link, which starts the flow when someone clicks it?

3) Excel file is saved on SharePoint: …. sharepoint.com/sites/Test900/Shared%20Documents/Forms/AllItems.aspx

I found the trigger "When a file is created or modified in a Folder". When I Change Excel file, the flow is not triggered. I tried different Folders.

sharepoint.png

If none of this works, I will trigger it every Minute, but I dont know if this is really a good solution.

Thank you for your help.

Best regards

Mario

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
v-litu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ms17vfb,

1) There is button for mobile devices, but it couldn't embedded into Excel file.

2) Link is not support, Flow only support generate a post URL, when a HTTP request received, trigger the Flow, to call the URL we should use action HTTP request.

3)  "When a file is created or modified in a Folder" is support when an Excel file is updated, you could set the Flow monitor a subfolder and try it again:

Annotation 2020-07-23 093148.jpg

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Lin Tu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
v-litu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ms17vfb,

1) There is button for mobile devices, but it couldn't embedded into Excel file.