cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

List Tasks Planner - Successful Alternative to get Labels and other inaccessible fields

Hi All,

Long time reader first time poster.

I have been learning Flow and Planner for several months and been trying to get an automated download of all Planner Tasks.
All Flow approaches using "List Tasks" are limited as they cannot access all fields.
The "Export to Excel" option from the Web Version of Microsoft Planner (which provides almost all fields) cannot seem to be automated and has to be manually triggered. 

I have found a Flow alternative where it appears to be best to ignore using "Apply to Each" after "List Tasks" in Flow.

Using "List Tasks" and "Apply to Each" to write the fields back to an Excel table or similar takes up to an hour or more and the Flow times out.

However if you look at the total list of available fields (screenshot below is not all of them) ....

Capture.PNG

But then compare this list to the actual Download text generated by the prior "List Tasks" (from the results of the Flow) you find that "List Tasks" has "extra fields" that included such as total number of checklists per Task, total number of active checklists per Task, label numbers, what is selected to be shown on the card (Description, Checklists, Attachments etc) within the text. 

All the prior discussion here said seems to have stated these fields are inaccessible.

So I abandoned using "Apply to Each" and instead dumped the "List Tasks" output direct to a File in Flow.

I made a loop which did this for every Plan.
This took the download time to 10-30 seconds!!!!

I then used Power Query in Excel to pull the file apart and do data transformation and get ALL the information I would have from the "Apply to Each" method ... but also all these extra fields.