Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
davidcb13
Level: Power Up

Multiple Identifiers/ Grab Meta Deta from 2 files

Hello Everyone,

I am relatively new to Flow ,but have created several in the past though they have all been pretty basic. I am trying to create a workflow for document approvals. What I want to do is the following.

1. Marketing User creates file and uploads it to sharepoint, alert is sent to department head,department head forwards to one of his employees to add comments. (This flow is done)
  2. Department head or one of their employees uploads file with comments to different sharepoint folder and marketing user is notified via email the content is ready for editing. (this flow is done)
  3. Now here is where I run into issues. I want the marketing user to upload the document to a third folder for final approval, then I want the user who uploaded the file in step 2 to be sent the file for final approval.

Where I am having difficulties is how to have a trigger for "When a file is created" and attach that file to an email, but also get the "Modified By" email address for the file uploaded in step 2. I hope this makes sense, any tips or ideas on how this might be able to be accomplished is greatly appreciated.

4 REPLIES 4
Super User
Super User

Re: Multiple Identifiers/ Grab Meta Deta from 2 files

@davidcb13- is there any link between the files uploaded in step 1 and step 2?  For example, do users have to select the file in list 1 from a lookup column when uploading their file to list 2?  Is there any field that is common between the two?  Without that, I don't know how you can reach your goal.

Scott

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Scott
davidcb13

Hi Scott, no they do not as of now. However I am open to other workflows. Would you be able to describe how the lookup columns might work? I have not used them before.

Super User