cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bwright
Frequent Visitor

Multiple emails from flow designed to send new list item details via email

Hi everyone,

I am very new to flow creation.  I have built a flow to send an email when a new item is entered into a list.  The body of the email contains the data entered in the new list item.  Attachments from the new list item are also sent as an attachment in the email.  At this point, the email output contains everything that it should.  The issue is that flow is sending the email 4 times.

I am sure this is due to the "apply to each" portion of the flow.  I have tried to move the send email part outside of the "apply to each" portion, but it does not work.

The first "for each" control was created to get the new list item attachment content.

The 2nd-4th "for each" controls were created automatically by Flow when I added the respective field from the list item to the output email body.  Each of the fields allow for more than one selection when creating the item.  These fields are "Category", "Items", and "Who needs to be involved?"

How do I correct this flow so that output email stays the same, but send sonly once?

bwright_0-1622814009607.png

bwright_1-1622815077819.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ccc333ab
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Yes, the 4 emails are due to the loops. You will want to send the email outside these loops, but to get your "multiple" attachments and "multiple" values from your list, you'll need to build up some "containers" to hold them in and attach them once into the email. 

Of note, you won't be able to send multiple attachments in the "Send Email Notification (v3)" action. I would recommend using the Outlook function Send an email (v2). I'll show you below one way to do all this: 

For attachments:

1. Initialize a variable of type Array
  2. Loop through all attachments, and add it into the array variable.