cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
giftedbrain
Level: Powered On

Must I create a SharePoint Online List to create Microsoft Flow for Approvals from Manager(s) for Word documents?

Hi Community

I am new to Microsoft Flow. I have used Flows mainly to Refresh Power BI Datasets so the data is up-to-date for my Power BI Reports.

Approvals team in my office requested me to create Microsoft Flow for Approvals from many Managers.

FYI - We are using O365 and SharePoint Online.

The requirement is as below:

1. A Site Engineer will upload Word document(s) on to SharePoint Online Site (I am the Admin of this SharePoint Online Site).

2. The same Site Engineer will run/trigger the Flow when he thinks he is ready, so I thought to create a flow that is Instant - from blank.

3. This document should send an email to all the Managers who will need to review this document simultaneously and make changes in the document.

4. Some will update this Word document (would be nice to have visibility on the updates or track changes).

5. Some will Approve.

6. Some will Reject this Word document with comments for amendments.

7. The rejected document should send an email back to the Site Engineer so he can take appropriate action and resend the document for Approval.

8. Notifications must be sent by email or otherwise to the Managers who have forgotten to review the document before actioning them as Approved/Rejected.

9. All the Managers need to Approve before a document is considered Complete.

All the videos on YouTube have been talking about Approving documents on SharePoint List!

Must I create a SharePoint Online List (since we're on SharePoint Online) to create Microsoft Flow for these (many) documents in various folders? If so, what is the best approach?

As you could see, at the moment I have created a 'Construction Documentation' in the library and have created Folders and Subfolders in this sequence: