cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
WinonaMouse
Regular Visitor

Need to pull excel data from a sharepoint folder, send an email reminder, and escalate accordingly

Hi. I am new to power automate and I have been looking through multiple results but none of them have exactly what I'm looking for and I, admittedly, am too inexperienced to try to build this from scratch. I have a report that is pulled on a schedule, put into an excel spreadsheet, and dumped into a Sharepoint folder. I need to be able to automate pulling a user's name and email to send an email reminding them of an issue. Now, on the second instance of that same user's name popping up in the report, I need the email to notify both the user and their manager. Then, on the third instance of the same user's name showing on the report I will need the email to go to the user, their manager, and two additional concerned parties. Basically, if their name keeps popping up I need to be able to escalate the reminder accordingly. If Power Automate isn't capable of these things, I would be interested in other avenues. Getting these tasks automated to where we don't have to manually send reminders is extremely important. Thank you.

2 REPLIES 2
v-liwei-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @WinonaMouse ,

When you use Excel as the data source, you need to store the data in the form of a table.

I have made a test for your reference:

1.This is my data source.

vliweimsft_0-1660632159446.jpeg

2.List the data in the Excel table.

vliweimsft_1-1660632183309.jpeg

3.Use select to get the user name. 

4. Use the union function to remove duplicates, and use Apply to each to traverse. 

vliweimsft_2-1660632215157.png

5. Use Filter array based on user name in Excel. 

vliweimsft_3-1660632282660.jpeg

6. Use Switch and use the length function to determine how many times the user's name appears in the data source. 

7. Use get Item to get user mail, manager mail, etc.