cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jpope
Frequent Visitor

Parallel branches for multiple choice questions?

Hi all,

Total newbie here. I'm actually a graphic designer who had an idea, opened my big mouth in a meeting, and now has to make the idea happen. This is an entirely new world, and I'd appreciate your guidance. My problem centers around a multiple choice question on a form and parallel branching not performing as expected. Here's what I've done:

I've created a universal referral form which will use a flow to populate into a master Excel table. From there the info will copy into various dedicated Excel sheets; ultimately notification emails will be sent to the instructors of each topic. Here's how I've laid out the question in forms:

jpope_2-1650390689968.png

Each option that people select should be captured in its own Excel column with an 'X'.  I've set up a parallel branch for each option, and they look like this: 

jpope_3-1650391846333.png

Here's the problem. Testing shows that if one option is selected, it transfers to it's respective Excel column just fine. However, if more than one is checked, then only the 'Resume' column is checked. Here's the Excel table showing what I mean:

jpope_4-1650392478031.png

Any thoughts or ideas? I'm open to approaching this in a different way, but I crashed and burned with some of the other options I watched on YouTube.

I so appreciate any help you can give!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
v-yujincui-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @jpope ,

Maybe you could try without parallel branches. You could use expressions instead of Dynamic content in Update a row Action.

I have made a test for your reference.

1. Here are my MS Form and excel table.

vyujincuimsft_2-1650620205338.png

vyujincuimsft_1-1650620191922.png

2. Here is my Flow.

if(contains(Dynamic Content,'Resumes'),'X','')

Result Screenshot:

vyujincuimsft_4-1650620423638.png

Best Regards,

Charlie Choi