cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Regular Visitor

Planner to Excel

NOT Excel to Planner!

This is my third attempt at just making this message because the insert image for the workflow will not work.  

This is my first workflow creation effort so I am a complete noob to this.  Still 30 years as a developer makes that relative (I hope). 

This power automate stuff seems really really counter intuitive.  The trigger I used was when a task was created from the Planner set of triggers.  First thing, right off the bat, it makes no sense.  I do not want to choose a group and plan but instead I want the nominal default case of ALL groups, ALL plans to be the way it behaves.  I understand I could copy the flow from one plan and make a flow for each plan, but, isn't this system about making things easier on us?, about automation, and not about copying stuff each time?  Seriously!  It SHOULD take a blank as a default for ALL plans in my security scope and do the 'for each' itself as an assumed part of the trigger.

That being said, I did get it to successfully put all the available columns from a Planner task into an excel table.  But the data types and meaning of the data that was available for the excel table row was not ideal (or even really useful).  For example the user ids are the long ridiculous unique identifiers, instead of the user display name which is OBVIOUSLY what is needed.  Likewise the has a description indicator is less than useful when what is needed is the actual description text.  Lastly, I see no way currently to get the comments on the task included.

Is there anyone who can help with this as a sample workflow?