cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
emfuentes27
Super User
Super User

Populate Word Template without with Rich Text SharePoint fields

As far as I know Power Automate is unable to Rich text Content Controls in MS Word. When I use just a Plain Text Content Control, it add a bunch of HTML tags, such as <div> and <p>, etc. I saw somewhere (can't recall where) that a workaround is to use a Repeating Section Content Control by creating an array. For example, I have data that look like this:

<div class="ExternalClassB8D4B82FCC774E82A9AA0B1B2EE583E1"><p>This is a paragraph. Very nice!</p><p>Another paragraph, great</p><p>Even more paragraphs</p><p>The end is here</p></div>

I started playing around using a Compose and split() with <p> as the separator, but the results look pretty bad:

[
  "<div class=\"ExternalClassB8D4B82FCC774E82A9AA0B1B2EE583E1\">",
  "This is a paragraph. very nice!</p>",
  "Another paragraph, great</p>",
  "Even more paragraphs</p>",
  "The end is here</p></div>"
]

How can I just extract just the text that is between <p> and </p>, and remove all the rest?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
emfuentes27
Super User
Super User

I think I figured out combining a bunch of Split, and Replace.

split(replace(replace(last(split(outputs('Get_item')?['body/Location_Text'], '">')), '</div>',''), '</p>',''), '<p>')

//Result --//

[
  "",
  "First Paragraph,",
  "Second Paragraph,",
  "Third Paragraph"
]

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
emfuentes27
Super User
Super User

I think I figured out combining a bunch of Split, and Replace.

split(replace(replace(last(split(outputs('Get_item')?['body/Location_Text'], '">')), '</div>',''), '</p>',''), '<p>')

//Result --//

[
  "",
  "First Paragraph,",
  "Second Paragraph,",
  "Third Paragraph"
]

Helpful resources

Announcements
Microsoft 365 Conference – December 6-8, 2022

Microsoft 365 Conference – December 6-8, 2022